View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Nov 23, 2017 11:43 pm



Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
 Use ShoutIRC bot as a transcoder relay 
Author Message
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 9:43 pm
Posts: 37
Location: Australia
Medals: 13
RadioBot Owner (2) Feature Requester (5)
Helper (1) Longevity (5)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Use ShoutIRC bot as a transcoder relay
Use ShoutIRC bot as a transcoder relay
Some people might want to run transcoded relays for people with slow or mobile internet. This guide is for those people.

What is a "transcoded relay"?
A transcoded relay is an exact copy of your original stream running on a different port/mountpoint at a different bitrate and/or format. It's designed to make it easier for people to listen to a station if they have poor internet. Codecs like MP3 and OGG don't sound particularly good at low bitrates, where as codecs such as AAC and AAC+ sound pretty good in comparison. The bad news? MP3 is much MUCH more compatible with software and devices, so running AAC or AAC+ is not a good idea as your main stream.

With a second IRCBot license (unless one license allows a second bot to be used in this way on the same license license - (would be nice ;])), you can make a simple and effective transcoder.

Setup your transcoding IRCBot in similar fashion to your regular bot, however, assign a different nick from your existing bot, and setup the sound server to point your transcoded stream point (NOT the same as your regular broadcasting port)

Gonna say this here, it's a good idea to not have your bot in the same IRC room as the master bot. They will react to the same commands if not set up properly (i.e !dj will result in both bots reporting the DJ line)

Setup AutoDJ (DO NOT USE SIMPLEDJ, it doesn't support transcoding!) to broadcast to the transcode port with the format and bitrates you wish to use (Good format/bitrates to use: MP3/96kbs AAC+/64kbs AAC+/32kbs. Never use MP3 with a bitrate lower than 96kbs, it sounds awful).

Create an empty M3U file, then put the following in it:
Code:
#RANDOM
http://<serverip>:<port>/;<mountpoint>

Place this in a folder, and set the following in ircbot.conf:
Code:
content: folder/to/m3ufile

This will tell the AutoDJ to play the stream as a song. Metadata from the original stream will be passed back to the transcoder, however, DJ title updates will not.

Run your bot normally, and watch the log. If it starts playing the stream on Deck B, congratulations! Your transcoder is properly configured!

If you have any issues, hit me up here: http://fillydelphiaradio.net/chat

Have Fun!
WestJ

_________________
http://fillydelphiaradio.net/
The best P0N-3 Music

Image


Tue Apr 16, 2013 12:31 pm
Profile WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 448
Medals: 17
Administrator (1) Plugin Developer (1)
RadioBot Owner (1) Helper (1)
Longevity (13)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Re: Use ShoutIRC bot as a transcoder relay
Just an update to this, the bot no longer requires an IRC connection so using it as a transcoder is even easier and more convenient than before. Although it is probably still overkill compared to using liquidsoap, especially if you want more than one relay going.

_________________
You can also contact me via email or instant messenger, links are at the bottom of this post.


Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:57 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 2 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.