View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 2:40 am



Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Allow Shell to connect to remote bot 
Author Message
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 48
Medals: 31
RadioBot Owner (1) Feature Requester (15)
Helper (1) Longevity (10)
Bug Reporter (4)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Windows
Post Allow Shell to connect to remote bot
As far as I can tell, the Shell only allows you to view a bot that the shell is also installed on, it would be great if you could remotely connect to the bot from another computer through the shell, somewhat like the DJ Software Package already does.


Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:54 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 448
Medals: 17
Administrator (1) Plugin Developer (1)
RadioBot Owner (1) Helper (1)
Longevity (13)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Re: Allow Shell to connect to remote bot
There are already a lot better and more secure ways of doing this. screen, VNC over SSH tunnel, etc.

_________________
You can also contact me via email or instant messenger, links are at the bottom of this post.


Sat Feb 09, 2013 1:47 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 48
Medals: 31
RadioBot Owner (1) Feature Requester (15)
Helper (1) Longevity (10)
Bug Reporter (4)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Windows
Post Re: Allow Shell to connect to remote bot
What is the purpose of the shell, then?


Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:05 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 448
Medals: 17
Administrator (1) Plugin Developer (1)
RadioBot Owner (1) Helper (1)
Longevity (13)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Re: Allow Shell to connect to remote bot
It was made mainly because a few people wanted to be able to minimize the bot to the system tray and/or have an automatic way to keep the bot running under windows if someone shut it down or anything.

It doesn't send the bot console text over a socket or anything, the shell launches it and uses I/O redirection to read the bot output and display it in the text box.

_________________
You can also contact me via email or instant messenger, links are at the bottom of this post.


Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:11 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 48
Medals: 31
RadioBot Owner (1) Feature Requester (15)
Helper (1) Longevity (10)
Bug Reporter (4)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Windows
Post Re: Allow Shell to connect to remote bot
Couldn't that be done with ibctl somehow? Documentation on this addon/program is lacking.


Sat Feb 09, 2013 6:22 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 448
Medals: 17
Administrator (1) Plugin Developer (1)
RadioBot Owner (1) Helper (1)
Longevity (13)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Re: Allow Shell to connect to remote bot
ibctl can do most of what the bot client can do, except things that require a persistent connection like accepting requests.

_________________
You can also contact me via email or instant messenger, links are at the bottom of this post.


Sat Feb 09, 2013 7:27 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.