View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:20 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Ping 
Author Message
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 48
Medals: 32
RadioBot Owner (1) Feature Requester (15)
Helper (1) Longevity (11)
Bug Reporter (4)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Windows
Post Ping
Make it so that when you ping the bot with !ping it could show you an actual lag time instead of just a message with a response. Possibly a %lag variable coded into the bot.


Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:01 pm
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 451
Medals: 18
Administrator (1) Plugin Developer (1)
RadioBot Owner (1) Helper (1)
Longevity (14)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Re: Ping
The IRC protocol doesn't timestamp messages that way, so it can't tell how much lag there is between you and it. It could report the last known round-trip time between it and the IRC server though.

Most clients support CTCP (as does the bot), so you can also get a round-trip time by typing /ctcp botnick ping

_________________
You can also contact me via email or instant messenger, links are at the bottom of this post.


Mon Aug 08, 2011 10:06 pm
Profile YIM WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 48
Medals: 32
RadioBot Owner (1) Feature Requester (15)
Helper (1) Longevity (11)
Bug Reporter (4)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Windows
Post Re: Ping
I mean I know it can show the ping time it takes to get to a bot in the ctcp...but can you make that a public command as well? I have seen it in regular mIRC scripts so I know the IRC protocol itself supports it. I.e. !ping Alan would show the lag time of myself in open room instead of CTCP. (I know you don't want to bloat the bot, but respectfully you do have a few commands that are somewhat redundant.)


Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:05 am
Profile
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:58 pm
Posts: 451
Medals: 18
Administrator (1) Plugin Developer (1)
RadioBot Owner (1) Helper (1)
Longevity (14)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Linux/Ubuntu
Post Re: Ping
A script that does that would just be a wrapper around CTCP. (ie. someone would type !ping Alan, the client sends a CTCP PING to Alan, when it gets a reply displays it to the requestor)

But yes, that should be able to be added.

_________________
You can also contact me via email or instant messenger, links are at the bottom of this post.


Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:12 am
Profile YIM WWW
Member

Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 7:08 pm
Posts: 48
Medals: 32
RadioBot Owner (1) Feature Requester (15)
Helper (1) Longevity (11)
Bug Reporter (4)
IRCBot Version I Use: v5
IRCBot Platform: Windows
Post Re: Ping
Wrapper and an optional variable possibly? Not in ircbot.text by default but able to be added if the user wants.


Fri Aug 12, 2011 12:17 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware for PTF.